Blueberry Muffin……………………….Disaster!

Hello readers! So today I, artybaker, am going to do another post about baking! Yay! Definitely my favourite topic to blog about. Yeah, so I have this book which I call my question book in which I write down all of the questions I ask myself, look up the answers on the internet and write them down (inspired by Do Igloos Have Loos? by Mitchell Symons). Just less than a week ago I was asking myself What’s the difference between a cake and a muffin? So naturally I wrote it down in my question book and went looking for the answer. This was my conclusion:

Cakes and muffins are baked foods and texture and tastes are often quite similar, but what is the real difference between them?

The answer is that muffins are a form of bread, and cakes started out as such but are now so much more altered that they can no longer be counted as one. Cakes are more sweet and unhealthy and are normally eaten as desert whereas muffins are traditionally eaten for breakfast. Cakes are also coated in icing sometimes but muffins are not.

Ok, so anyway the point of me telling you all that was that doing that gave me a craving for muffins and I never make them. I find them pretty tricky and our oven doesn’t cook them very well. But as I say, I got a craving so we bought some blueberries and I found a recipe in one of my books that I hadn’t tried before. I think it’s safe to say that it went very wrong. But hey, I think it’s important that I don’t just write about bakes that went 100% perfectly all the way through – come to think of it that is extremely rare for me; I always seem to have to make some kind of compromise! So this the story:

First off, sophofbread ate a few of the blueberries before hand without knowing I needed them so I only had about 130g instead of the 225g the recipe said I should have. But that was OK because I always think that recipe books put too many blueberries in anyway. So then I started to make the mixture. It was different to any muffin mix I’ve ever made – first you melt the butter and combine in with the rest of the wet ingredients; egg, vanilla extract and milk. Then you combine the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder and sugar) and make a well in the centre of them. This is where I slipped up. Uh Oh. I forgot the sugar… After I had added the wet mix to the dry I tasted it. Eww. I was like “Hmm, tastes a little different to the muffins I’ve made before. But I guess it will be alright once it’s cooked.” Then I tried it again and thought that there must have been something missing so I looked at the ingredients list and I realised just in time what was wrong. I decided just to fold in the sugar and hope for the best. I was a little worried that the muffins would be tough because the recipe said they would if over mixed. But no! They tasted really nice! I think they could have done with a few more blueberries but apart from that it was brilliant! Well, the taste was…… As for the look, well….

P1050351

They sort of rose out of the cases and developed little heads! I don’t know why they did this. I guess they had too much raising agent in them?

P1050364

Above: The best ones.

P1050357

Above: One of the worst ones.

Ok, so looking back maybe the word disaster is a bit of an overstatement; I’ve definitely done much worse bakes. I’m not going to give you the recipe for these muffins because it doesn’t belong to me and I think it might need some improvement!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

