Remembrance Day Meringues

P1060116

Hi :). So because today is Remembrance day, and because the symbol of Remembrance day is a Poppy, I thought I’d bake something with Poppy seeds. We had some spare and I was wondering what I was going to do with them – and now I’ve found something! So I made some meringues in the shape of Poppies. To make them I just whipped some egg whites, added caster sugar then dyed it red. Well, I tried but it came out more dark pink, but I didn’t want to add too much food colouring. Then I piped the shape of a poppy and put some poppy seeds in the centre. Which I thought was pretty cool idea! Here’s some pictures…..

P1060088 edit

P1060084

P1060087

P1060106 edit

P1060113

And here is one of the baking trays with the stencil and the stencil I used to make the centre circular…P1060075

The pictures make them look really orange but they’re actually a lot more dark. I’m really happy with how they turned out. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

