Orange Gingerbread

P1060754 edit

Hey! It’s me artybaker. I’m not pleased to say that this post is being posted almost a week later than I planned. ūüôā I’m not doing very well with my resolution for one post every Monday. BUT THAT ENDS TODAY! Now that it’s December I’m going to do lots of posts on Christmas-y bakes and crafts!

So today¬†I’m going to tell you about some gingerbread men I made a week or so ago. But, they had a twist. I added orange rind to the mixture hence the title Orange Gingerbread.¬†I wasn’t sure whether I should save this post for after Christmas because¬†this recipe isn’t directly festive buuuuut I think it’ll be fine. After all oranges are sort of Christmas-y and people eat rich, warm sorts of foods this time of year, right? Here’s some photos…

P1060723

Cutting the men out of the dough.

P1060724

Ready to be baked.

P1060726

Mmm smelling delicious.

P1060729

Ranging in size.

P1060736 edit

Three little men.

P1060741

Cooling on the wire rack.

P1060761

Tower of gingerbread men.

P1060744

Yum!

I would usually say eat biscuits when they’re¬†warm unless you’re going to ice them because they taste better but with these I say¬†DON’T. When I did I thought¬†I hadn’t put enough orange in because the ginger totally eclipsed it. But then I tasted one a few hours later and the orange was coming through. Success! Woo¬†hoo! So, yeah, these biscuits are best eaten day after baking (never thought I’d say that).

In my recipe I put plain flour, ground ginger and bicarbonate of soda in a bowl and rub in margarine. Then I stir in brown sugar and the grated zest/rind of 3 oranges. Next, you put an egg and some golden syrup in a jug, mix and add to the main mixture to form a dough. Knead, roll, cut and bake. Simple! I thought if you wanted to make them more Christmas-y you could cut them in the shape of reindeer or stars etc. And it would be cool if you made a fruit or ginger cake and you put these orange gingerbread men around the sides (maybe two sizes?)!

So to recap, here’s a few tips for Orange Gingerbread Men..

  • To give the orange flavour,¬†simply add the grated rind of 3 oranges to your¬†dough¬†with the sugar.
  • When you stir in the liquid (eggs and golden syrup) it should form a ball of dough. It is likely that you will have some flour-y remnants in the bottom of the bowl. Knead the dough briefly and make a well in the centre, then pour in the dry remains and¬†fold over so they are in the middle. Knead until combined.
  • Always roll out on a floured surface with a floured rolling pin. Add milk if the mixture is too dry and add more flour if the dough is too sticky.
  • To make more Christmas themed biscuits,¬†use¬†Christmas cutters such as Santas, reindeer, stars or Christmas trees.
  • To prevent ruining the smooth look of the top of the biscuits, test them by inserting a knife or skewer into the base, making sure you don’t go all the way through.
  • For the best orangey flavour eat the day after baking, or least after they have cooled.
  • These biscuits would make a great decoration for the sides of a square or round ginger or fruit cake that is moderately tall.

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you very soon with more festive posts! ūüôā

Leave a Reply

